Recently, I have went through some changes regarding my friendship group. My best friend of 11 years befriended another group, who he spends all his time with now. I am in a different group of friends also.

Why? I don’t know. There was no big fall out or argument, we just both went our separate ways and that’s okay. We have both become different people, and I question that if we hadn’t been best mates through primary school, would we be friends at all in high school? He is very obnoxious and conceited, traits which I don’t value, and I’m sure I have qualities that he doesn’t like either.

There is a very noticeable change with him. However, because there hasn’t been a big falling out, we still talk on the bus etc. and do group work together in classes. Believe it or not, it’s the first time in school where I’m in a friendship group with nobody from my primary school, and gladly I am enjoying it.

It feels like a sad end of an era, but someone once told me that “Although there will be those friends who you are loyal to, you are guaranteed to find people that you get on better with.” I agree with this statement.

I wrote this post to have some sort of closure; to end a chapter. We haven’t yet reached the stage where we don’t speak at all but I can feel it coming. So I thought I’d take this opportunity to say Goodbye, Old Friend.

 

